Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   A Journey of a Thousand Steps or How Do I Get There From Here? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/journey-thousand-steps-how-do-i-get-there-here-t264004.html)

tkhooper 04-14-2015 10:43 AM

A Journey of a Thousand Steps or How Do I Get There From Here?

Hi all,

I know I've been around for awhile but I'm still a beginner. I've decided that starting with hard quilt patterns is not the way to go. So I took a beginner machine piecing and beginner machine quilting class. And I've watch U-Tube for specific techniques. Now I need to know what to tackle next.

My final goal are ten window quilts for the house. They are "The Garden Door", An Asian Circle Applique, A fused Stained Glass Butterfly, A Mount Fuji Panel that I want to do with a reflection of the mountain in the quilt, a Compass Rose, 3 Baltimore Album Quilts, and two asian panel quilts to go on either side of the Mount Fuji Quilt in the bay windows.

Can someone tell me what I should be working on to improve skills that I will need to finish the quilts I want?

JuneBillie 04-14-2015 11:09 AM

Oh you had me all interested in what you were describing. It sounds so beautiful.

I don't have a lot of advice, but to practice on all your new skills. I am a lot like you too. I have been sewing along the way, but was a beginner, and still consider myself a beginner too.

I love the process of learning and improving anything I work on. I always felt like I was trying hard to at least do my best, and I guess I was at the time. Now I can see I have improved, and I take lots of pictures just to keep and be able to look back at my process.