Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Kinda sick....is it totally ruined????? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/kinda-sick-totally-ruined-t250136.html)

Fortyniner 07-14-2014 12:11 PM

Kinda sick....is it totally ruined?????

I have been working for months and spent hundreds on a quilt top for my nephew's wedding using batiks. Unfortunately, there was a pet accident and the top needed to be washed. I prewash all fabrics. So I decided to wash in cold water on gentle cycle and used Synthrapol. I am new to quilting and assumed that would take care of it, so I dried it, only to discover the yellow batik is no longer as yellow. I tried to attach pictures, but couldn't get it to work. I did a search and saw a response to someone who hadn't dried their quilt in the dryer and one of the posts said to wash in Synthrapol, color catchers and hot water. Would that work after I dried it? Any other suggestions?

Prism99 07-14-2014 12:19 PM

Can you post a photo?

I'm not quite understanding the result. Are you concerned because the yellow batik is not as yellow as it used to be? Or was the yellowing the result of the pet accident, and you want to get rid of all of it?

How did the seams come out? Did you get any fraying?

Synthrapol is supposed to be used in hot water to be effective, but I have found it still works to a lesser extent in non-hot water. Depending on the problem, it can take several washes with Synthrapol to get a stain out completely.

Drying usually does not permanently set dyes or stains, so I wouldn't be overly concerned about the fact you ran the top through the dryer. I am more concerned about how much agitation the quilt top can take before you start getting frayed seams.