Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Lap Quilts--115 (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/lap-quilts-115-a-t178394.html)

SUSIENC 02-06-2012 02:26 PM

Lap Quilts--115

I wanted to know if it is possible to make 115 lap quilts by Nov 2012.There is a young (22) yr old that wants to make these for the homeless and put a small bible in a pocket on the quilts.I am new to the quilt world here.I have learned alot from everyone butt I couldnt answer her questions......she is also on a limited.......I mean poor limited budget.......I have ask my friends for any fabric--shirts--they dont want...............can she get this done..........ADVICE................what size is a lap quilt?????......Thanks.......

karenpatrick 02-06-2012 02:32 PM

I don't know either, but I would be happy to donate fabric and even make a few myself. PM me if you think she would accept some fabric from me.

wanda lou 02-06-2012 02:46 PM

Sure it's possible.

Quiltaddict 02-06-2012 02:49 PM

That would be a real challenge. To do 115 quilts by November would mean approximately 3 quilts per week. I couldn't do that and I'm retired.

SUSIENC 02-06-2012 03:14 PM

Hi Karenpatrick..........I will ask her about your offer and get back with you.Thank You for the offer........

Jan in VA 02-06-2012 03:22 PM

Between September 2010 and April 2011, with the help of this internet group and my local guild, I had made and quilted 128 quilts for a battalion in Afghanistan; but it was a mammoth task, all-consuming, and very expensive. Thank God for the beautiful, generous members here who came forward with love and effort to cover these men. It is NOT something I could possibly have handled on my own!

I fear that her heart is larger than her ability alone. Is she willing to do the legwork for donations from the community and ask for local sewers to assist??

Jan in VA

momto5 02-06-2012 04:29 PM