Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   ? for LAQ (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/laq-t264305.html)

ManiacQuilter2 04-21-2015 02:55 PM

? for LAQ

I am so VERY lucky that I have a newbie who recently purchased a LA (don't know model info) that is happy to quilt my charity quilts as she learns to user her new toy. I have been quilting for 25 years and have certain habits.

My question is if she uses Sulky rayon thread on the top, should she also use it in the bobbin?? I always made sure I used matching cotton thread in my bobbin. I want to be helpful to her so I just wasn't sure what the answer you would be from all you LAQs. THANKS for you input.

soccertxi 04-21-2015 03:14 PM

most of the time I match my top with my bobbin thread. If I have trouble with tension, I try to match a slippery thread (glide, magnifico..never used rayon) with something less slippery but close in weight..so maybe with a light weight thread, I would use SoFine. Most long armers find what works in their long arm by trial and error. You might suggest she check out Jamie Wallen's You Tube video about tension. I found it very helpful when I bought a pre-loved longarm and got no new owners class. Here is a link:

http://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=...A3EF3279102A80

Prism99 04-21-2015 03:30 PM

It's definitely easier to hide tension issues if you use the same thread in top and bobbin. It's not necessary, though. Longarmers can mix top and bobbin threads just as domestic machine users do.

However, I am curious about the selection of Sulky rayon for quilting. Rayon thread is not nearly as strong as cotton or polyester thread and I think is not usually used for quilting for that reason. Some time ago I asked here on the QB about using rayon thread to quilt a charity quilt I was finishing up (the thread color was a perfect match), but got quite a few posts that advised against it.