Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Leaving the paper in on Paper Piecing????? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/leaving-paper-paper-piecing-t176896.html)

urgodschild2 01-25-2012 09:30 AM

Leaving the paper in on Paper Piecing?????

I just have to ask this. I am new at paper piecing and I bought the freezer paper. Now that I have it I don't know what to do with it. I did put 4 small pieces together to make a template and that worked out really nice. But I hear people saying that they leave the paper in. ?????? What does that do to your quilt when you wash it?????? Shouldn't it be removed????? Also, do you iron on the freezer paper to the back of your material and then cut out your pattern with the 1/4 " added on???? OH I also bought some paper from Soft Expressions that is made for Paper Piecing and it worked out fine but i was curious about the ironing on of the freezer paper and so I bought that. thanks for all your help in advance.
:)

Sunnye 01-25-2012 09:36 AM

I'll be looking for answers too!

Holice 01-25-2012 09:45 AM

if you don't take the freezer paper out then when washed it will leave that plastic stuff in your quilt as well as the heavier paper. Piecing with paper only is the foundation and to me should be removed when it has served it's purpose.

heyjami 01-25-2012 09:45 AM

I always take my paper out for paper piecing. I do often leave the block with the paper in tact to use the marked seams when I piece the top together. But then I take it out before sandwiching.

I love PP - it makes it look like I'm a MUCH better piecer than I am! :-)
I'm now venturing into HST and I've found that PP gave me some wonderful scant 1/4" habits. I have a little bit to shore up but compared to last year's piecing I've improved so much!

sewmary 01-25-2012 09:47 AM