Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Longarm bobbin question (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/longarm-bobbin-question-t87183.html)

ljfox 01-02-2011 06:22 PM

I am new to longarming and all I have done is practice so far but I have a question. My Tin Lizzie will wind bobbins while you quilt and it winds them much faster than you use them so it sounds great until I just realized that you need two spools of thread so that you are sewing off one and winding bobbins off the other. I only ordered one of each of the colors I wanted and I don't want to wait while another order comes. Anyone have a good suggestion for me to solve my problem? I suppose I could wind the bobbins ahead of time but have no idea how many I would need for a baby quilt.

dgmoby 01-02-2011 06:35 PM

You will learn though - how many you need per size, per density. It's not only the size, but how much thread you lay down for that paricular quilting pattern on that size of quilt. Make sense?

Until you get extra threads for those colors you use alot, you may need to wind them from the same cone. You probably will never duplicate all your threads, only those you use all the time. That's the drawback of the onboard bobbin winders. One idea would be to wind the bobbins in advance, if you know what you're going to use on the next quilt and have a good idea of how many you'll use.

Otherwise, sorry...I have no great words of wisdom - except perhaps to get a second bobbin winder :(

Yes...stuff happens :)

Debbie in Austin

sewwhat85 01-02-2011 09:14 PM

Originally Posted by dgmoby
You will learn though - how many you need per size, per density. It's not only the size, but how much thread you lay down for that paricular quilting pattern on that size of quilt. Make sense?