Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Longarm Quilters (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/longarm-quilters-t301257.html)

Mooseybjm 11-30-2018 04:25 AM

Longarm Quilters

I have been sewing for over 50 years and have had the opportunity to sew on several makes and models of sewing machines including embroidery and midarm quilter. A little over a month ago, my husband had purchased a sitdown longarm machine for me to enjoy free motion quilting on applique quilts. With no support, besides my husband, question: What thread (weight & brand) are used on a longarm machine? No domestic machines, longarm. The frustration, wasted hours I have gone through to get the machine to sew due to tension problems and proper thread, I am at the point this was a very bad investment. Any help would be appreciated. Thank You!

donna13350 11-30-2018 04:52 AM

The simple answer is that you can use any brand of thread to longarm with that you used on your domestic machine. The longer answer is more machine specific. You should tell us what machine you have. Some machines don't like some threads. I don't think your problem is thread, since you've tried many brands and are still having tension issues. There are tons of youtube videos on longarm tension..some are general, some are machine specific...I found them very helpful when starting out. What type of tension issues are you having? Also..with a new machine, you may not have threaded it properly, be sure to check that, and make sure you are using the correct needle.

hcarpanini 11-30-2018 05:42 AM