Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   machine applique (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/machine-applique-t158856.html)

nikki128 10-08-2011 01:14 AM

Hi everyone-

I am about to embark on my first machine applique project. I will be fusing leaves and pumpkins from the fall melody Accu Quilt die set. My question is does anyone have any tips for satin stitching around the edges? I have never done this before. Is it best to use a blanket stitch, a zig zag? do I need to stabilize it beyond the fusible I use? Thanks in advance for your help.

ckcowl 10-08-2011 01:29 AM

use a lightweight fusable- like steam a seam lite- or heat n bond light- the heavier ones are not made to be sewn- and will gum up your needle-
the fusable should be enough stablizer-
any stitch you like the look of can be used- some people just straight stitch just inside (i don't have too good of luck with that one) a blanket stitch is good- so is a small zig-zag-
some people who have decorative stitches on their machines use one of them...a satin stitch is a heavier stitch- will give definite (definition) to each piece- so make a little practice block- and try out different stitches around a circle- or some curved shape- and see what you like- they are all fine to use- and just a personal preference.

nikki128 10-08-2011 01:40 AM

thanks for the tips :)

piepatch 10-08-2011 02:32 AM

Originally Posted by ckcowl
use a lightweight fusable- like steam a seam lite- or heat n bond light- the heavier ones are not made to be sewn- and will gum up your needle-
the fusable should be enough stablizer-
any stitch you like the look of can be used- some people just straight stitch just inside (i don't have too good of luck with that one) a blanket stitch is good- so is a small zig-zag-