Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Machine sewing binding (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/machine-sewing-binding-t250774.html)

robinred55 07-25-2014 11:45 PM

Machine sewing binding

Hi All,
First of all I want to thank the members on this board. Even though I'm a lurker I've learned so much by reading what others have done.

Firstly, I've learned how to sandwich my quilt using basting spray. I've finally made a quilt without all the puckers from not getting it all flat. The quilt I'm working on has become my "coming of age" quilt. I'm a self-taught quilter and have made about 10 quilts over the last 2 years.

I read the thread about the quilt police and a number of people 'confessed' to machine sewing binding. I have bad carpal tunnel and if I can avoid hand sewing all the better. I've always machined the front binding but if you sew the binding on the back also it must show on the front of the quilt. How do others manage this?

Thanks from Down Under:)

icul8rg8r 07-26-2014 12:16 AM

No need to "confess" anything! Whether one binds by hand or by machine, it is totally up to the quilter! I actually prefer machine binding - seems much stronger. I bind from the back to the front, and use one of my machine's pretty decorative stitches which gives the quilt a nice, finishing touch.

Esmerelde 07-26-2014 12:48 AM

I machine sew all my bindings. I usually attach to the back first, then pull to front and sew to the front. I use a normal straight stitch, and just move the needle two settings to the right to catch the very edge. (I use my blind hemming foot when doing this and keep the edge of the binding against the guide).

Recently I've started to sew to the front and then do the same on the back. My bindings are 2.5 inches wide and the side I sew last is always wider, so if I want a very narrow look on the front, I now sew to the front first.