Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Machine transport question (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/machine-transport-question-t219693.html)

azure68 04-21-2013 07:42 PM

Machine transport question

I started sewing a year ago and have pretty much self taught myself on all the projects I've made. I'm taking my first class at a local quilt shop in a couple of days and was wondering what's the best way of transporting my machine. I will be taking my Juki HZL-F600 for the class and already have a Tutto large tote with the wheels for it. The shop is about a 25 minute drive from where I live. When I purchased the bag, I was able to stand it up with the wheels down in the trunk of my car and can still close the trunk with no issues.

I just loaded my machine with the hardcover on into the tote and it fits with barely any wiggle room. Now, since the tote doesn't have any brakes on the wheels, do I have to worry about the tote moving and tipping over when I take the corners? I don't plan on turning fast on corners, but you never know. lol

Can I lay the tote on its side in the trunk? Would that be bad for the machine to be stored in that position during transport? We don't have the best roads here in town, so the occasional bump is a regular occurence. Or am I better off laying some towels on the back seat and securing the tote upright with the seatbelt instead?

Thanks,
Peggy :)

clsurz 04-21-2013 07:49 PM

Make sure your needle is down for one thing.

Does your tote have straps in it? If so use those. I also put old towels in the tote where ever I can squeeze them in. That also will help to stablize the machine.

I don't recommend laying it sideways. IMHO it should be upright.

Tartan 04-21-2013 08:56 PM