Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   making a quilt from clothes (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/making-quilt-clothes-t95943.html)

Linda R 02-01-2011 04:51 PM

Three years ago my best friend passed away. This past week, family and friends got together to celebrate her husbands 65th birthday in S.C. While I was there I was given 8 bags of my best friends clothes and asked to make quilts for her children and grandchildren. ( I think all her dresses and good clothes were given away shortly after her death, so this must be what was in the dressers etc.) The first problem I see is that most of the clothes I was given are sweathers, turtlenecks, and tops that are blends. I've been making quilts for a couple of years, but consider myself still a novice at quilt making. Since most of the tops seem to be blends, not true cottons...can I do anything with it and if so...what? Any help would be appreciated! I don't want to disappoint this family.

kbonafede 02-01-2011 04:57 PM

Originally Posted by Linda R
Three years ago my best friend passed away. This past week, family and friends got together to celebrate her husbands 65th birthday in S.C. While I was there I was given 8 bags of my best friends clothes and asked to make quilts for her children and grandchildren. ( I think all her dresses and good clothes were given away shortly after her death, so this must be what was in the dressers etc.) The first problem I see is that most of the clothes I was given are sweathers, turtlenecks, and tops that are blends. I've been making quilts for a couple of years, but consider myself still a novice at quilt making. Since most of the tops seem to be blends, not true cottons...can I do anything with it and if so...what? Any help would be appreciated! I don't want to disappoint this family.

I think you should gracefully decline making any quilts.