Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Marking a quilt top. (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/marking-quilt-top-t25552.html)

ladytellico 09-16-2009 09:31 AM

Hi, I am new to this message board, or any message board for that matter. I have had trouble finding a good product to mark with. Has anybody ever tried a chalk line from the hardware store. This was a sugguestion from a friend of mine and it sounds like an excellent idea for straight lines. What do you think?
Thanks

justwannaquilt 09-16-2009 09:40 AM

For straight lines I use masking tape! for some reason I just don't trust chalk, I know many people do but with the tape if for some reason (I have three kids so thats reason enough) if I have to stop in the middle of a line I don't have to worry about the chalk getting brushed off while I am away! the tape stays in place pretty much no matter what, I had some tape on a quilt until just the other day, it had been on for at least three months folded up in a box, i pulled it out put it in the machine and stitched the line! removed the tape and nothing was left behind and the tape had stayed in position!

You can also get tape in many different widths to get different width lines!

Quilt4u 09-16-2009 09:41 AM

Hi and welcome. Teat it out on a pice of srap that you are going to use first to make sure it will washout with out leaving a mark. I love my sewline pencials(?).

ladytellico 09-16-2009 10:44 AM

I will definetly try the masking tape. I never even thought about tape. Thank You very much.

ladytellico 09-16-2009 10:46 AM

I have the sewline pencils , but I must not be using them right because I have a hard time seeing the line.
Thanks

Lacelady 09-16-2009 02:04 PM