Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Minky help please (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/minky-help-please-t276143.html)

catsden 02-26-2016 01:45 PM

Minky help please

This is my first time to work with minky. Making baby quilt. Not using batting. Have spray basted and pinned. Am going to use walking foot to stitch in the ditch then will do the motifs. Am I going about this the correct way. Don't want to mess this up as I have a shower to go to in the near future. Picture of quilt follows.
Well, guess picture is not going to happen. Updated my mac and now that the picture catagory has changed I can't get a pic to upload. Sorry

ManiacQuilter2 02-26-2016 02:12 PM

You have to be so careful because Minky can be stretchy.

quiltingshorttimer 02-26-2016 02:34 PM

Have not used in on DSM, but on the long arm you have to be careful because of the stretchiness, to not stretch it--so it's loaded with the stretch going side to side. I would think you could do it fine, but may want to really think about which way you are sewing when doing the SID. Are you planning to do motifs with FMQ? that would probably work ok cause your feed dogs would be down.

catsden 02-26-2016 03:13 PM

Originally Posted by quiltingshorttimer (Post 7477776)
Have not used in on DSM, but on the long arm you have to be careful because of the stretchiness, to not stretch it--so it's loaded with the stretch going side to side. I would think you could do it fine, but may want to really think about which way you are sewing when doing the SID. Are you planning to do motifs with FMQ? that would probably work ok cause your feed dogs would be down.

Yes, I am going to do FMQ motifs and my feed dogs will be down. I also am using my modified (Leah Day) darning foot. Have practiced with this modified non hopping foot and my regular one. Seems that the minky is easier to handle using non hopping foot for FMQ.