Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   My black print fabric faded! (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/my-black-print-fabric-faded-t107991.html)

okiedee 03-15-2011 06:07 PM

Before I started cutting...I washed my new 100% cotton fabrics on delicate in cold water and the black parts of the print faded some...now it does not match the other blacks. I dried it in the dryer on low.

I am really frustrated with this..fabric is not cheap. I am a beginner piecer of quilts. I have not cut quilt pieces before and I have not stitched them together. I will be using a machine to piece together..but will quilt by hand.

I will need to buy solid black for some stripping around the quilt..what is a good fabric to buy? I want to stick with 100% cotton. Thanks, Dee in Oklahoma

bj 03-15-2011 06:09 PM

I don't speak from experience (not because I've not used it but because I mostly don't prewash), but I've heard on here and other places that the Kona black holds its color well. :-D :-D

sewcrafty 03-15-2011 06:10 PM

I also like the Kona black. Its really a nice dark black.

okiedee 03-15-2011 06:11 PM

Okay..I will Google that and see what it is..thanks so much! :-P

CarrieAnne 03-15-2011 06:15 PM

I love Kona too!

Mariposa 03-15-2011 06:16 PM

The Kona black will be great for you, and hold its color!

irishrose 03-15-2011 06:16 PM

A post on blacks indicated that Michael Miller Jet Black is the blackest and stays that way. Hancock's of Paducah was listed as a good source. I want to try it, but haven't needed any recently.

okiedee 03-15-2011 06:22 PM

Oh my...I thought you were supposed to prewash..it sure would have simplified things had I not prewashed. Can't afford to buy more of the black print fabric...I will just have to use and looks like a big lesson learned....thanks so much. :D

bj 03-15-2011 06:26 PM

Originally Posted by okiedee