Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   My first Downy quilt! (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/my-first-downy-quilt-t95269.html)

almostfree 01-30-2011 12:08 PM

I just signed up to receive my first Downy quilt kit. I am so excited, that I just had to share. I have never done a quilt for charity before, and since I'm a newbie I hope I'll be able to do it well enough. The only think I'm worried about is the machine quilting. Hope they're not too picky! Wish me luck!

danece 01-30-2011 01:05 PM

I too have signed up for the Downy program, and I feel that they will be happy with anything as long as you follow their rules and requirements :D i have done quilts for charities before and they really do need them, there are a lot of kids out there that would love all of us to donate more than one, it really is a quick quilt project

grandmacam 01-30-2011 04:57 PM

Could you tell me how to sign up for making a Downy quilt? I would love to do one for charity. Don't know anything about it.

karenchi 01-30-2011 04:58 PM

Go to.....www.quiltsforkids.com

I belong and it is a great organization.

karenchi 01-30-2011 05:00 PM

You will love this charity. I belong to it also.
You can do a quilt in about a day. The pattern is a 9-patch.
The only thing they require is that the backing be flipped over for the binding and stitched real well.

grandmacam 01-30-2011 05:10 PM

Thanks for the info.

MommaDorian 01-30-2011 05:12 PM

Originally Posted by karenchi
The only thing they require is that the backing be flipped over for the binding and stitched real well.

I didn't realize they couldn't have seperate bindings.

5moose 01-30-2011 08:43 PM

They can have a binding on them. They just don't provide that fabric but you can use any in your stash if you choose to do a binding. I have donated 44 quilts to this great charity and never have had one rejected.

amma 01-30-2011 09:51 PM