Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Names (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/names-t248796.html)

ocydroma 06-20-2014 10:13 PM

Names

If I'm posting this in the wrong area please forgive me.

i was wondering if people give your machines names? And if so what's it's name and why did you name it that? I just thought this would be a fun thing to do.

I really haven't given much thought about naming mine until last week. Her name is Charlene after a wonder lady I have become friends with on this forum. She is so up beat, positive and encouraging so I felt that would be perfect!!

can't wait to hear about others!!

earthwalker 06-20-2014 10:23 PM

My everyday machine (vintage of course!) is called Jasper....when I worked in the book-trade I shared an office with my much older boss ....despite being quite senior in years, he was very computer savvy....everytime he was doing something, but his computer was too slow I'd hear "Come on Jasper" over the room divider......used to make me smile - so Jasper it is.

IrishgalfromNJ 06-21-2014 02:59 AM

I have a Vesta (a Singer 3400XL), a Martha (Bernina 1530 and the name of previous owner), an Elsie (a Singer 401 and the name of previous owner) and a Bronwyn (a Juki serger). I used the names Vesta and Bronwyn just because I like them. I think naming your machines is fun.

humbird 06-21-2014 04:31 AM

I have 4 machines. I call #1 "the ole Necchi" #2 "Little Elna" #3 "Gram's ole Singer" (belonged to my late MIL) and #4 "King" The King is a treadle. King is the brand.

Nammie to 7 06-21-2014 05:42 AM

Of course he has a name -- my Bernina is named Phil. I know he is male as he does not multitask but will perform one task at a time beautifully. You have to treat him nicely and clean him up every now and then and he will work like crazy for you. My pickup is named Tom T Ruck.

soccertxi 06-21-2014 05:57 AM