Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Need advise on my next machine (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/need-advise-my-next-machine-t217254.html)

jenniekay 03-24-2013 05:47 PM

Need advise on my next machine

Hi everyone! I'm new to the board, but not to sewing/quilting....I have been quilting for 5 years now.

I am getting ready to buy a new machine, because my basic Singer is not up to the task or FMQ.....I have three machines I am looking at, any advise if you have one of these would be excellent.

Bernina 350: I used to have a Bernina, so I know them and I know they are excellent machines. My main concern would be the size of this one for quilting in general

Janome 6300P: I have read excellent things about the Janome machines, never tried one

Juki TL2010: was recommended to me today, seems like it'a an excellent quilting only machine....I know nothing about these.

There are dealers within driving distance for all these machine, the Janome and Juki dealers about about 30 minutes away and an hour away, so trying to figure out if I need to take a few days and drive around to test them or if I can make a decision reading reviews and advise :-)

nvb50 03-24-2013 05:50 PM

I prefer the Husqvarna Viking Ruby. It is absolutely perfect for FMQ.

Prism99 03-24-2013 06:27 PM

You really should drive around and test them. For quilting, my choice would probably be the Juki (even though I've never test driven any of these machines!) based on the reviews and user comments I've seen. The Juki can be used for piecing as well as quilting. In the Sharon Schamber videos I have seen, where she's sewing something together, it's a Juki that she is using.

Jingle 03-24-2013 06:29 PM

I have had two Juki TL 98QE, they are very tough and all metal parts. Perfect for piecing and FMQ.

Shelbie 03-24-2013 07:20 PM