Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Need Help with Backing with Rayon=Pros & Cons (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/need-help-backing-rayon%3Dpros-cons-t123248.html)

dott443 05-15-2011 10:39 AM

I'm new to quilting, but did at one time sew a lot. I have loads of rayon fabric that would make nice backing or quilting patches, however, don't want to use this if their are big problems ahead. Also I am a hand quilter, would this make quilting harder? Could sure use some experienced help with this. Thanks loads

Candace 05-15-2011 10:44 AM

Rayon is thinner than good quilting cotton and it frays. I would find other uses for it.

dinlauren 05-15-2011 10:47 AM

I don't think rayon would hold up to the use and washing quilts would get. I agree with candace....may find other uses for it or goodwill.

Tartan 05-15-2011 01:07 PM

Rayon tends to be slippery to work with and it frays alot. That said, I have used it for a small quilt back because it was the exact colour I needed. I had to pin it alot, leave extra around the edges for fraying (trimmed before binding)and I machine quilted it. I have also heard that it works well for chenille quilts. Do up some mug rugs with it and see how you like it.

eastermarie 05-15-2011 02:00 PM

Some rayons are dry clean only, some will disintegrate when wet, some really really shrink when wet.

Holice 05-15-2011 02:04 PM

Its a case of having to respect the nature of the fabric when considering its use in "non traditional" ways. Points made above state it very well.

dott443 05-15-2011 02:39 PM

Originally Posted by dott443
I'm new to quilting, but did at one time sew a lot. I have loads of rayon fabric that would make nice backing or quilting patches, however, don't want to use this if their are big problems ahead. Also I am a hand quilter, would this make quilting harder? Could sure use some experienced help with this. Thanks loads