Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Need help with colours (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/need-help-colours-t240529.html)

kthibault 02-06-2014 01:16 PM

Need help with colours

3 Attachment(s)
I am fairly new to quilting and am attempting to make a scrappy looking quilt on the diagonal using a jelly roll and charm pack of the same fabric (Moda - Collection for a Cause: Legacy). I have all my strips figured out (Pic 1) and picked a bright blue as the border (and thus the setting pieces) - Pic 2

I am not working from a pattern, but working off this general idea: http://www.thecalicocottagequiltshop...4#.UvP4vP20WZY
Which is why I made the mistake of putting those blue square pieces at the end of all the strips - they should be triangles!

So keep in mind that I am already resigned to taking those blue squares off, which has me re-thinking the whole bright blue border decision. I really like the color combo before I added the blue, which I now feel is just overwhelming, especially when I add more for a border. Pic 3 shows my brown and red backing and red binding.

There are also a few pieces in the quilt that I feel pop out too much (solid blue and red pieces) which I may take out.

Any insight would be much appreciated! I think I will switch to a more neutral (cream?) border and setting, although that has me concerned some of the pieces will blend into it too much.

dunster 02-06-2014 01:29 PM

How about leaving the blue pieces on (after all, they're already there!) and then putting side triangles, corner triangles, and border in the beige?

BTW, I think it looks great, and no need to change out any of the pieces. That's what scrappy is all about - happy accidents that bring your eye here and there around the quilt, investigating the different fabrics and shapes.

racerh 02-06-2014 01:30 PM