Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Need help mounting quilt blocks (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/need-help-mounting-quilt-blocks-t223067.html)

MrsBeasley 06-05-2013 05:06 PM

Need help mounting quilt blocks

I will be entering 2 quilt blocks in our local fair. The category says: "Quilt blocks, 2 different, Un-quilted and displayed on card stock or Bristol board"
Elsewhere it says that pins other than safety pins are not allowed.
How will I mount these blocks to the cardstock? Sew them to the cardstock? Glue?
This is my first time entering this category, and I really need suggestions.

barny 06-05-2013 05:15 PM

I don't know how to mount them, but the bristol board can be gotten at Jo-Ann's in their frame dept or Hobby Lobby.

Tartan 06-05-2013 05:56 PM

Yes, you can sew them to the cardboard. Pin them in place on the cardboard, bristol board or foam core with all the corners touching in the middle. This allows you to use a needle and thread to tack all 4 of the inner corners in one go. Sew one stitch across each corner going through the seam allowance so you don't spoil your blocks. Leave the thread tail hanging when you start o you can tie the 2 tails together once you are done tacking the corner. Once the center is tacked down and tied off, move around the board tacking the rest of the corners.

QuiltE 06-05-2013 07:49 PM

That's exactly what I was doing tonight ... I use foam core, and use push pins to hold the blocks in place. And yes, out fairs say you must use safety pins only. However, there's never been a problem. I like the foam core, as when they display the block, it keeps it all sitting nice and perky, whereas bristol board can flop so easy.