Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Need some quilting advice (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/need-some-quilting-advice-t179272.html)

carol45 02-13-2012 01:14 PM

Need some quilting advice

2 Attachment(s)
Over a year ago I posted my eq7 design for a full size quilt. Here it is:

Now I've finally found all the 12 different shades of blue that I needed and finished the quilt top. I need some advice about how to quilt it, both the central part and the border that hangs over the bed. I am not an expert FMQer--I'm building some skills, but I can quilt using a walking foot. I'd appreciate any suggestions that you can offer.
I'm attaching a picture of the top (it's on a queen size bed, but it will be a full size quilt--and I will bind it in the same dark blue that I used for the thin border).
Thanks in advance for any advice!

Lori S 02-13-2012 01:30 PM

If you are not so confident in the FMQ, Outline the stars straight line , and do a close grid in the centers and perimeter blocks... maybe 1.5 inches by 1.5 inches. You can stitch in the ditch on the piano key border. I would also stich in the ditch around each edge of the black border.
Beautiful quilt top.

carol45 02-13-2012 01:38 PM

Originally Posted by Lori S (Post 4972172)
If you are not so confident in the FMQ, Outline the stars straight line , and do a close grid in the centers and perimeter blocks... maybe 1.5 inches by 1.5 inches. You can stitch in the ditch on the piano key border. I would also stich in the ditch around each edge of the black border.
Beautiful quilt top.

Lori,
I'm not sure I understand what you are saying. Do you mean to echo quilt on all the seams that are on the stars? and what type of close grid in the centers? A square grid? I just can't picture it.
I think SID in the piano keyboard is a good idea.
Thanks!

erstan947 02-13-2012 02:19 PM