Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   New Idea for embroidery (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/new-idea-embroidery-t24098.html)

Mimi 1 08-13-2009 08:16 AM

I love it when I come up with a new, better way of doing something. Thought I would share, and maybe someone else has had the same problem. I was asked by a friend to embroider some fluffy towels. I have never done this before but I said sure! As they were very fluffy, I had trouble with the stitches burying under the pile. I tried embroidery stabilizer, Aqua Film that is designed to disolve with water, but left a gummy residue. And it was expensive. What a dilema. I had to come up with something! I thought of Glad Press and Seal you know, plastic wrap!!!! Cheap and it works like a charm.

Ninnie 08-13-2009 08:47 AM

Do you place it on top of the towel , directly under the needle/
this might be a stupid question, but I just got my machine and know very little about what I'm doing! :oops: :oops: :D

amma 08-13-2009 08:58 AM

What a Great Idea!!! :D :D :D

Roben 08-13-2009 09:54 AM

Floriani and Inspira both make heat soluble toppers for just this type of machine embroidery, and they both work well. No water, and no muck :D I cut a piece a little bigger than the embroidery I'm doing (not the whole hoop size) and pin it in place, keeping the pins out of the way. One roll lasts a very long time for me. These stabilizer 'toppers' are designed to support the embroidery stitches and then melt away - if the iron doesn't get 'em (which it almost always does) then the heat of the dryer will the first time they get washed. I don't know what the Glad wrap that is left under the stitches will do when subjected to the dryer. :cry:

feline fanatic 08-13-2009 11:53 AM