Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   New to quilting and need advice (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/new-quilting-need-advice-t259306.html)

Littletree 01-07-2015 03:55 AM

New to quilting and need advice

Hi! I am new to quilting and from WV. I have completed one quilt which I posted today. WV quilt. I would like to get started on another quilt but get so overwhelmed with all the choices of fabrics and colors, choices of patterns and just everything in general.

So hard to begin!Fell like a kid in a candy shop- what to choose what to choose:D.

I have asked for help at fabric store and the young girls there just don't see to have any advice. Would greatly appreciate your expertise.

Thank you and have a great day!

NJ Quilter 01-07-2015 04:33 AM

For me, I need to find a pattern I like and then select fabric. Do you want to do a lap quilt? A bed-sized quilt? Do you generally like random patterns (or placement of objects) or are you a more 'organized' type person?

Perhaps looking through the photo section here might give you some hints or clues. Or google quilt images. Jot down or remember what type patterns/images immediately strike you as cool/neat/interesting. It could be a repeating pattern or 'sampler' type. Do you like the consistency of just a few fabrics or are you intrigued by 'scrappy'? Narrowing down some of those questions might help with deciding on your next project.

TexasSunshine 01-07-2015 04:35 AM

Find a pattern first you would like to make, keep it fairly simple and think about the colors and patterns you like of fabrics. The gallery of pictures of different patterns on the quilting board here is a great source.

TexasSunshine 01-07-2015 04:38 AM

Great minds think alike, njquilter, we were on the same track.

Sharonquilts 01-07-2015 04:42 AM