Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   New to Quilting- What are the top accessories to start with? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/new-quilting-what-top-accessories-start-t279651.html)

amandaKquilts 06-16-2016 12:20 PM

New to Quilting- What are the top accessories to start with?

Hello everyone!! :D

I am new to quilting and I have a few questions. I recently received a sewing machine from my grandmother as a wedding gift. My wedding guest book was actually sheets of fabric, with the plans to make it into my first quilt. Now that I am thinking of it, I would hate to make them into a quilt that may get worn over the years. I thought about maybe making some kind of quilted book? but not sure if this is a thing?

The main reason I wanted to post is because I'm interested in learning what everyone thinks would be the most needed accessories to begin with. I know fabric and thread of course. I'm also looking into purchasing a rotary cutter and a mat. I'm just curious what everyone's favorite brands may be, or if there are any other things that come in handy?

Bree123 06-16-2016 12:59 PM

Yes, you can make a quilted book. I did one from a Winnie the Pooh panel for my nephew. You can either make it the width of 2 "pages" and stitch down the center line as your spine, or I've also seen people put grommets in & secure the quilted pages together with binder rings.

As for first-time tools & supplies to see if you like quilting:
45mm rotary cutter (Olfa)
18x24" or larger cutting mat
3.5x24" or 6x24" acrylic ruler
size 80/12 Microtex machine needles (Schmetz)
50wt thread for piecing (med grey for dark colors & light ivory for paler colors) (Aurifil or Gutermann)
50wt thread for quilting in a color that mostly matches your top (Aurifil)
Warm & Natural batting is easy to quilt & fairly inexpensive
Small scissors (Gingher epaulette scissors) to clip threads