Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Newbie with a fabric buying question... (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/newbie-fabric-buying-question-t57289.html)

Jerudy 08-01-2010 09:36 AM

I am new to quilting and newer to this board. I have a question regarding buying fabric. I have several finished and unfinished quilt-tops and am anxious to try to actually try to machine-quilt finish some of these projects. Recently I injured my hand, so I'll have to temporarily put off progress. Well, my DH has just offered a road trip to Lancaster tomorrow, (to lift my spirits a little). OK, now to my question.....

How to shop for new fabrics, I don't have any plans for a new quilts, so how do I buy stash? Should I just buy fabrics that I like? and how much of each? Or should I try to find a new pattern and figure out exactly what I need to make something new?

roseOfsharon 08-01-2010 09:39 AM

I have just learned to pick a fabric that I like with other colors within it as a focal point..example.. floral print.. then chose the colors within it to compliment the floral print. :)

franie 08-01-2010 09:40 AM

Pick a pattern that has fabric requirements and shop that way. First find a focal fabric and then work around that. That's how I do it SOMETIMES. Sometimes I just stash build. If I really like something I don't do less than 3 yds.

mlaceruby 08-01-2010 09:46 AM

If you find something you like buy it!
at least 3 yds
but if you are just building stash
try buying background fabrics, whites, neutrals, blacks
also buy what types of fabric you like
such as americana,batik, civil war,calicos, etc
so even if you don't have a project in mind they will work into one at a later time.
also quilt backs

bearisgray 08-01-2010 09:49 AM

I would suggest staying with just a few styles/themes to start with, so that you can mix and match the fabrics later.

oldswimmer 08-01-2010 09:54 AM