Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Newly quilted quilt already coming apart (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/newly-quilted-quilt-already-coming-apart-t176024.html)

Casi 01-17-2012 04:48 PM

Newly quilted quilt already coming apart

I'm a newbie....my 3rd quilt top that I put together I sent to my daughter. She had it quilted by a lady in Kentucky last month. It is already coming apart! I made pillow shams to match which I sent with the quilt to be quilted. I noticed when I put the binding on the shams that the quilter used whatever you call that thread that looks like fishing line. She used that on one side and regular thread on the bottom. Is this a common practice? What I am thinking is that the fishing line thread is severing the regular thread when my daughter lounges on rop of her quilt. Any ideas? Such a waste of my time....how is it going to be fixed without having to resort to some hand tacking????

Jan in VA 01-17-2012 04:56 PM

The quilter probably used a nylon thread, a common practice for a while in the early 1990s. Most quilters stopped doing this when they began to have some of the same problems you're noticing. The thread manufacturers began to make a softer nylon thread, but still many quilters had decided to forego using nylon threads by then.

Next time, be sure that your longarmer is using good quality cotton thread. As a matter of fact, if it were me, I'd be using a different quilter, LOL!

Jan in VA

Tink's Mom 01-17-2012 05:00 PM

I think I would be contacting the quilter and asking what the problem is...

Sunnye 01-17-2012 05:00 PM