Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Not happy with quilting class (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/not-happy-quilting-class-t276177.html)

gmac01 02-27-2016 05:46 PM

Not happy with quilting class

I recently signed up for a monthly class however, I have found that I am not enjoying it at all. I am a self taught confident beginner, but this class is changing the way I do almost everything. It has taken all the fun out of quilting and turned it into something I dread doing. Should I drop the class or suck it up until it's over?

mkc 02-27-2016 05:53 PM

I am also self-taught, and have only been quilting for a couple of years. I quilt because I enjoy it, not to enter quilt shows or sell quilts, or anything like that.

It sounds like you aren't having any fun in the class, and if it were me, because I do this as a hobby not for a living, I wouldn't continue. Life's too short to have the fun taken out of something you enjoy.

Now, if you have aspirations of entering quilt shows and the monthly class teaches you techniques that are judged at shows, that might be a reason to continue, but with the understanding that you're doing it for those times you would be quilting for the judges, not yourself.

cjsews 02-27-2016 05:54 PM

I would continue. There are many ways to accomplish the same results. Just think of this as an experience in other options. You may find something that will help in a particular pattern. Then when the class is over you can go back to the process you prefer

Bree123 02-27-2016 05:59 PM

If you really dislike it that much, I'd drop it. Unless you are planning on quilting as a business, I say you should do things however you want! Hobbies are meant to be fun & if this class is sucking all the fun out of quilting, why keep torturing yourself? :thumbup:

quiltingshorttimer 02-27-2016 06:04 PM