Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   oiling your machine (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/oiling-your-machine-t3829.html)

newquiltertoni 01-01-2008 08:14 AM

I have a question about oiling your machine. My MIL got me a basket full of quilt goodies and she gave me oil. As I am a beginner I don't know where exactly or how to keep mine oiled. How often should you do it and what parts get it? I have a Brother CE4000. It is computerized. I searched the manual and don't see anything to be helpful in this area. :( Any tips would be great, I want to make sure it stays working smoothly!

dcurvey 01-01-2008 09:22 AM

I have a Singer and I oil it every time before I work on it. Actually I should say i oil the bobbin area every time. The shaft inside the head of the machine I oil about once every 2 months. In my manual it shows exactly where the oil should go. It's not a computerized machine. Happy New Year

PurplePassion 01-01-2008 09:25 AM

Usually computerized sewing machines don't need oiling. Check with a sewing dealer. I just got a Janome computerized machine and asked if it should need oiling , they said NO , everything is enclosed and has a white grease in it. Elaine

Minda 01-01-2008 10:25 AM

I agree with PurplePassion about checking with a sewing machine dealer. The bobbin area of my Bernina should be oiled regularly, but my Janome should not be oiled. It all depends on the machine.

PamH 01-01-2008 12:15 PM

I got a Janome a few months back, and no where in the manual did it said to oil it, just how to clean the bobbin area, so that is all i do. Now my old Brother told in the manual exactly where to oil it. Pam

fabuchicki 01-01-2008 01:36 PM