Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Old fabric or new? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/old-fabric-new-t319917.html)

Synnove 01-13-2023 05:26 PM

Old fabric or new?

I'm curious to know how many of you enjoy using up your very old (vintage?) fabric, and how many will only sew with the newest to come out. I've been quilting for over 37 years and yes, I think I still have some scraps from those very early days! I know they're way out of style, but I still like using some of the old fabrics, including calicoes. One of my favorites is the fabric that I used for bathroom curtains back in the 70s! Some 10 or 15 years later I found the same calico in a fabric store and bought it. Sadly, I have only a few small pieces left, so I'm trying to figure out where to use it to best advantage. I'm tempted by the beautiful new fabrics and do buy them from time to time, but have no problem mixing new with old. And you?

Gemm 01-13-2023 05:32 PM

My stash of new/current fabric is very limited but I'm okay with this. :-) One of my favourite things to do is to see what treasures I can find at my local thrift stores. I've found some vintage 1970s VIP panels next to a piece of Tula Pink. You never know what you will discover! Because of how I acquire my fabric, most of my quilts have a mix of old and new, and if I'm totally honest, I have enjoyed making those quilts far more than the one or two made with all-new coordinating fabrics. :-D

cjsews 01-13-2023 06:22 PM

I have been sewing long before I started quilting. And yea, I hoard all those bits and pieces. They do make some interesting quilts. I rarely buy fabric collections. I prefer to mix and match to make my quilts personally unique. That is not always a good thing 😳

Stitchnripper 01-13-2023 07:01 PM

I've only been quilting about 20 years. Some