Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   OMG! why didn't I try this sooner? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/omg-why-didnt-i-try-sooner-t301653.html)

meyert 12-18-2018 04:21 PM

OMG! why didn't I try this sooner?

Ok I know I am a newbie even though I have had my machine for over 5 years. I keep learning different things. Well one thing that I did was to mark my quilts where I wanted to quilt them. I have been on my hands and knees marking for straight line quilting..... I have done many quilts straight line quilting and marking all of them.

Then today I have a quilt that has a lot of dark and when I mark with chalk it tends to rub off .... so I broke down and tried the quilting bar that came with my machine. I mean duh!!!! Why didn't I do this sooner???

I know its silly but I just wanted to share my excitement and say something in case there is someone else out there who hasn't tried that yet. Just try it!

But now I am wondering if they make bigger ones??? So I can quilt 4 inches apart instead of just 2" or less apart.. hhmmmmmm.... time to check the internet :)

retiredteacher09 12-18-2018 04:48 PM

Isn't it fun to learn new things especially those 'light bulb' moments?

thimblebug6000 12-18-2018 05:16 PM

I have a Husqvarna and the bar that comes with my walking foot doesn't screw in...so it actually shifts a little as you use it..... what machine do you have?

meyert 12-18-2018 05:47 PM

I have a Janome 6600 and this bar doesn't screw in either. I have been watching it to be sure I catch if it does shift, cause I can see that happening

Christine- 12-18-2018 05:50 PM

:cool: I love those light bulb moments!

newbee3 12-18-2018 06:58 PM

I do not know why more people don't use their decorative stitches for quilting there are so many stitches and they are beautiful.

Quilt30 12-18-2018 08:59 PM