Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Outline Stitching (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/outline-stitching-t177505.html)

molly oldham 01-30-2012 05:35 AM

Outline Stitching

When I'm not FMQ, I SID but I think I want to outline stitch on my next quilt. I've never done that before. Which side of the seam do you stitch? And do you outline every seam? I know this is a silly question. Thank you.

Charleen DiSante 01-30-2012 05:41 AM

It's not a silly question! Are you talking about outlining some of the focal points on the fabrics in the quilt?

abdconsultant 01-30-2012 05:41 AM

Are you referring to" stitch in the ditch"?

molly oldham 01-30-2012 05:47 AM

Originally Posted by Charleen DiSante (Post 4924588)
It's not a silly question! Are you talking about outlining some of the focal points on the fabrics in the quilt?

I'm making a Lovers Knot for my DGS wedding. The pattern calls for SID but I want to try OLS. Just don't know if the stitching goes on both sides of the seam or just the side of the seam allowance.

QuiltnNan 01-30-2012 05:52 AM

I did this on my first quilt - when I really didn't know what I was doing - LOL. I stitched inside all sides of the patch. Then I stopped and started a new patch. It was a LOT of starting and stopping. I don't recommend it, but it's up to you if you want to go to all of that work. It's a lot easier in hand quilting because the thread can go to the next patch between the layers. Not a silly question at all. I wish this board was available when I started :)

Holice 01-30-2012 06:15 AM

whichever side you want. Usually the stitch just 1/4" or so away from the seam is used for dimensional effect.
I like it because it adds to the overall design. I believe some quilt patterns require it. Remember that the quilting can add dimension or additional design to the quilt.