Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Paducah ? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/paducah-t209535.html)

kathbug 12-29-2012 09:00 AM

Paducah ?

Ok so Paducah seems to win for quilt fest but know another question. This is the first fest, I am new to quilting and a lot of what I see as far as know quilters I do not know. Do you think I should start with a smaller show like Cinn. Or Columbus if so which do you think is better. I live 2 hrs from Columbus and 3 1/2 hrs from Cinn. I appreciate all of your help. Since my DH is also going with me I don't want this to the blind leading the blind so to speak and want to make the beat of this Christmas gift from him. l

BellaBoo 12-29-2012 09:10 AM

Go to all of them if you can. You will love Paducah Quilt Show. Much more then just looking at quilts there. The whole town is for quilters during the show week. Your DH will enjoy Paducah as much as you, he can be at one part of town and you in another. The shuttle buses makes it easy to get around but it's just as easy to drive in the town. No big traffic hassles.

inspectorcmm 12-29-2012 09:17 AM

I started out quilt show hoping by googling quilt shows and going to ones in my area. I will be going to the Padukah for the first time this spring and looking forward to it. Hotels are hard to find already so do your research before you go.

AliKat 12-29-2012 10:18 AM

Gads, by all means go if you can. There is no need to 'work your way up to' the bigger shows. It will inspire you more than the smaller shows. You can meet lots of quilters of varying expertise and just plain 'ol have fun. Take a camera or extra photo capacity for your phone if needed.