Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Picking out fabric (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/picking-out-fabric-t239938.html)

Annie Pearl 01-30-2014 02:56 AM

Picking out fabric

I love to look at fabric....I have since I was a child. I can go in a QS and look for hours. Then when it's time to pick out fabric for my quilt I freeze. I can't seem to get it together and nothing seems to go. What is my problem? I know what I like I just can't make it work together. I am a novice quilter and an old girl that used to make all my own clothes when I was a kid. Why can't I put quilt fabrics together so they look right? Any suggestions?

NJ Quilter 01-30-2014 03:31 AM

When picking out fabric for a quilt, I usually start with my pattern. Wander around in the store until I find what I want for a focal, or primary fabric in the quilt. Will then move on from there. I usually end up carrying around bolts of fabric with me for what seems like hours sometimes. If you have difficulty trying to figure out coordinating colors, try using the dots on the selvage of your focal fabric...those are the individual colors used to make up that pattern/design.

I will also, lay out the bolts with the lesser fabrics hidden, so to speak, so I can get a sense of what the visual will be. Focal on top, an inch or two of next fabric and so on. Or how they are going to be used together to get a sense of how it looks together.

alleyoop1 01-30-2014 04:08 AM

I have a similar problem but the wonderful sale staff at my favorite fabric store always help me.

IrishgalfromNJ 01-30-2014 04:34 AM

There is a fabric website where you can look at several fabrics together. Fabric.com has an option to add fabric to a design wall so that you can preview it together with other selections.

judi wess 01-30-2014 05:15 AM