Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Please help.....need smaller card trick block (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/please-help-need-smaller-card-trick-block-t97829.html)

Bubblegum0077 02-08-2011 08:22 AM

I got the card trick pattern on line at About.com quilting for free and it calls for a finished block at 9". I am trying to use my scraps, but the pattern calls for 2 different sized squares at 4 1/2" and 3 7/8" and some of the fabric scraps are not that big. Is it worth making a down-sized card trick block with such small pieces? Or am I better off using this pattern as is with yardage? I thought this would be ideal for my scraps and wanted to balance the color pallette possiblly using four smaller blocks into one larger block and dividing it with sashes. I've never made this block before and it looks fairly easy, but I am not good at down-sizing blocks and trying to figure out that detail.

Maybe someone on the board who makes tiny sized quilts can address this issue.

Any suggestions, or should I just stick with the pattern the way it is?

Holice 02-08-2011 08:42 AM

do you know how to draft patterns. Card Trick should be an easy one to do. and certainly cut it down to size to use your scraps.

BKrenning 02-08-2011 09:00 AM

You should be able to make it at 6" with little fuss but I'm wondering about your scrap pile now. If you don't have enough to make the blocks at 9"--I don't know how you'll have enough scraps to make enough smaller blocks to make a quilt.

My suggestion would be to just cut out the size squares you need from all your scraps and make the blocks with what you've got then put them away for awhile until you accumulate some more scraps. If you want to finish quicker, start hitting rummage sales & thrift shops for cheap cotton clothing you can cut into scraps.

BKrenning 02-08-2011 09:15 AM

Originally Posted by Bubblegum0077