Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Pls advise sewing machine for 14-year old beginner (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/pls-advise-sewing-machine-14-year-old-beginner-t223758.html)

sue.ross.8782 06-15-2013 12:50 PM

Pls advise sewing machine for 14-year old beginner

Hello, Quilters. I have been sewing for 40 years, and two years ago I began to teach my niece the basics of making a quilt top. We finished a quilt for her bed two years ago, and today we completed the quilt top that will be part of the quilt my niece will give to her older sister when she goes away to college in two months.
My niece needs her own machine now, as she had borrowed an old one of mine. I would like to have suggestions from you experienced quilters on what would be a good machine to buy for a high school girl who is just starting to learn how to sew.
Thank you in advance for your suggestions.:cool:

maryb119 06-15-2013 12:56 PM

I would go to a dealer and look at different machines. Many times they will have a good refurbished machine at a lower cost. You want a machine that will work properly because nothing discourages a new sewer faster than a machine that is not easy to run. Sometimes you can get a nice one at a garage sale to and with a cleanning and tune up, it works great. There are also new, lower cost machines great for beginners available at a dealer too. Take her along and ask her what she wants in a machine. Kids will use their imaginations and get a lot of creative ideas from a basic machine.

Prism99 06-15-2013 01:03 PM

What is your price range? That's always the first question I ask because it narrows down the options.

mom-6 06-15-2013 01:04 PM