Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Points and Seams (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/points-seams-t83418.html)

kakels 12-17-2010 07:09 AM

I am trying to do the Chrismas Stars pattern from freepatterns. I was very careful to cut the pieces precisly, but I can't get the seams to meet and the points crisp. I pin, double and triple check before I sew and it still is off. Not much, but the contrast in colors really makes it show. I'm a beginner, maybe it's too hard of a pattern for me?

KayT 12-17-2010 07:14 AM

It can be tough to line up star points with overlapping the corners to get them to come out correctly. I am sure you will figure it out. Why not check for a tutorial online. Good luck. I am sure you will figure it out.

dungeonquilter 12-17-2010 07:15 AM

When pinning the points, place a pin vertical through the point and through the matching point. Holding the pin vertical, place a pin normal way on each side of the pin. Remove vertical pin.
When sewing the points, try to sew a couple of threads outside (into the seam allowance) the point. This will leave enough for the fold, leaving the point showing.

JenniePenny 12-17-2010 07:18 AM

Good cutting, as you are doing, is only half the battle.

The second half of the battle is to make sure that your seam allowance is exactly 1/4 inch. Most machines are not set to do this by default, EVEN if you are fortunate to have a 1/4 foot. Take two scrap 2" squares of fabric and sew them together. Then using a reliable ruler, not your cutting mat measurements, measure what the length of the finished unit. It should be 3.5". If your unit is smaller than this, it means your seam allowance is too large.

Some machines allow you to press a button to change the needle position. Mine has to be clicked twice to get the needle moved over enough to the right to make a 1/4" seam.