Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   polar fleece backing on long arm, help please... (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/polar-fleece-backing-long-arm-help-please-t215684.html)

Nilla 03-06-2013 05:26 PM

polar fleece backing on long arm, help please...

I'm using polar fleece (I think that's what it's called. It's really thick, almost spongy) as a backing for a baby quilt. I have to use a white batting, probably Warm and Natural White, in between because the colors of the backing will show through onto the front otherwise.

I'm not sure if I need to use special care loading the fleece. Someone told me be careful not to stretch it too much, but is there a better direction to load it? I'm planning to do an all over stipple. I'm still new to long arming, so I welcome any advice/input. As always, thanks in advance!

ribbbbons 03-06-2013 05:51 PM

Don't be shy, just treat it like regular fabric, and of course don't pull or yank on it, and it will be fine. I use it all the time.

Lin

alleyoop1 03-07-2013 05:26 AM

I wouldn't use batting with a thick fleece backing. Can't you do something else so the colors don't shine through - like get a more neutral color fleece?
Don't stretch the fleece when loading it and check it each time you advance it to be sure you don't have ripples. A mirror is a great tool for this - or you can crawl under the frame!! :-)

Nilla 03-07-2013 06:02 AM

Alley, I'm making this quilt for my first grandchild and my daughter has very particular plans for what she wants, how she wants it and when she wants it. She's had such a difficult time with this pregnancy, so I just want to give her what she's asking for. I hadn't planned to use batting. I don't think it's at all necessary, but she wants particular colors and patterns and it will show through.

maverick 03-07-2013 06:07 AM