Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   prairie point question (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/prairie-point-question-t256137.html)

meyert 10-31-2014 02:26 PM

prairie point question

I have never done prairie points before, this will be my first quilt to put them on. I am going to make continuous prairie points. I did a sample run and they turned out pretty good, but apparently they are not the right size for my quilt, as when I get to the end of my quilt I am in the middle of one of the points.

How do you decide what width of the point so that you hit even on both ends of the quilts? Do I have to factor in the 1/4 seam allowance?

My plan is to have D4P center section of the quilt. Then I am going to sew on a 4" border - - I will sew the prairie points on to m center so they lay on the border. I like this look on quilts. But don't know what size to make the prairie points.

example - if my quilt center is 33" long when I sew on the border the center will be 32-1/2" Do I figure the 33" or the 32-1/2"? I am thinking I need to use the 32-1/2" but I a not sure. Is that correct?

Jackie Spencer 10-31-2014 02:30 PM

I start in the middle of one side, and work to the corner, then count them, so I will have the same number on the opposite side.

dakotamaid 10-31-2014 04:30 PM

Some times you have to fudge a bit. Squeeze or stretch out the fabric. I can usually handle 1/4 inch leeway.

Jan in VA 10-31-2014 06:33 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Could you do it like this?

Jan in VA

Oops, so small! Sorry. :(

lynnie 10-31-2014 07:01 PM

I just alter a bit, no one notices 1/8 - 1/4" off

citruscountyquilter 10-31-2014 07:02 PM

I have never done continuous prairie but rather made them individually. By making them individually you can move each one a smidgen to make them fit and the slightly uneven amount is not noticeable if the difference isn't too much.