Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Pre washing flannel & minky (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/pre-washing-flannel-minky-t247610.html)

vivientan 05-30-2014 05:30 AM

Pre washing flannel & minky

I just bought some flannel & minky fabrics to make baby blankets. As I've never worked with these fabrics before, is there a need to pre wash & how?

Any special instructions on washing these blankies after they are completed? Thanks!

dunster 05-30-2014 05:37 AM

Flannel really needs pre-washing. It's notorious for bleeding, shrinking, and pilling. I wash it in hot water and dry with heat. It may take more than one wash if it bleeds. If it pills, it doesn't get used except inside a rag quilt..

dd 05-30-2014 05:44 AM

I usually wash & dry flannel a couple times before I use it. Minky really sheds when its cut but after you have made the quilt there is nothing special they need to do. Guess a really hot dryer would melt the minky.

vivientan 05-30-2014 06:55 AM

Is there a need to pre wash minky and does it bleed & shrink as badly as flannels? For flannels, is it advisable to hand or machine wash? What's the desired temperature? I don't have a dryer at home. Can I line dry after washing?

Sneed 05-30-2014 06:57 AM

I never wash the minkee before sewing...it will only mess up your washer and dryer. It washes beautifully after the quilt is together. I'm actually working on two right now for a couple of grand nieces...twins.

Elisabrat 05-30-2014 07:05 AM

I believe minky is poly or another fabric than cotton correct? it wouldn't shrink then and its tough enough to sew with I sure as heck would not prewash it. Flannel you have to because it is shrinking so much that if your using it with a non shrinkable fabric there would be trouble when washed.

Elisabrat 05-30-2014 07:06 AM