Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   prewashing fabric (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/prewashing-fabric-t421.html)

emma'smom 01-11-2007 05:37 PM

hello, I am new to quilting but have been reading up on it. I do have one question, when prewashing new fabric what do you use?

hellcat 01-11-2007 06:34 PM

hi
You wash your material the same way that you will wash it after you make your quilt.
I sort my fabrics the first time I wash them just in case that that the fabric dyes run , I just put light colors together to wash them in the washing machine. Dark colors together and reds by themself, just the same way I wash clothes.
hope this helps

cjtinkle 01-12-2007 04:38 AM

I don't ever prewash, I just wash my finished quilts with a dye sheet catcher, I use the Shout! brand. Works everytime, and I use lots of reds and creams in my quilts.

Marsh Queen 02-21-2007 10:49 PM

There is another reason to prewash fabric. I recently prewashed a fabric with a dark black background. Yes - fugitive dyes can be controled from bleeding onto other fabrics, but in this case, the fabric itself faded in streaks. I am certainly glad I found out before I put it into my quilt! The store I purchased the fabric at refunded my money and returned the faulty fabric to the dealer.

Country Quilter 02-21-2007 11:51 PM

I always prewash my fabric and I just use my regular laundry soap to do it.

GayKennedy 02-22-2007 04:56 AM

I prewash all my fabrics unless it's for a swap or exchange where unwashed is requested. I wash mine just as hellcat does.....sorted with just my regular detergent.
Gay

Knot Sew 02-22-2007 05:58 AM

I don't add soap to mine. I just rinse. If I see color in the water I repeat.
I used solid red in a heavy cotton for a quilt back and it bled a lot. so that got rinsed a lot. Some fabric I use as is, I feel it and check contents; go with that, so far has worked.