Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Problem with a wall hanging quilt (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/problem-wall-hanging-quilt-t1554.html)

NewsletterBot 07-27-2007 01:41 AM

I am a beginner quilter and recently I pieced a small wall hanging. Here is the problem: my squares were good and flat, but when I added the lattice strips, which included some small squares, the quilt became very puffy, and wouldn't lay flat. What did I do wrong, and is there any way to flatten it so it will be easier to quilt? I really tried not to stretch the fabric when I ironed it. Please help, I'm very frustrated with it. Thanks for your time.

Donna

Norah 07-27-2007 06:57 AM

It sounds like your lattice strips are the wrong size. Sometimes the blocks don't come out exact and when one precuts the lattice according to the pattern, it will be the wrong size. It is better to cut the lattice in long strips and fit it to the block. It sounds like you will have to take the lattice off and resew it making sure the lattice is the proper length to your block.

Sorry, I hate to rip things out, but I don't see any other way. Just think of the little frogs sitting around saying "Rip-it, rip-it". It helps me.

mary705 08-25-2007 02:33 AM

I loved your Rip-it, rip-it saying Norah, gave me a giggle when I read it. :P

mimisharon 08-25-2007 07:00 AM

Now you know that is ALL I will think when I'm in the yard and the tree frogs are doing their 'rip it, rip it' instead of the ribbit, ribbit! lol lol But then again I do a lot of teh rip it rip it!! :roll:

Thanks for the giggle today, Norah, now I'm off to work on Aug 15th leaf.
lol lol

Norah 08-25-2007 10:34 AM

I have to give credit to one of the others on this forum for the "Rip-it" idea. I love it as well.

Boo 08-25-2007 10:53 AM