Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Problems with FMQ- please help! (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/problems-fmq-please-help-t300879.html)

SusieQOH 11-13-2018 06:43 AM

Problems with FMQ- please help!

Hi friends,
I made a table runner and wanted to FMQ it. (I'm not that good at it yet)
I have a Juki TL2010Q and yesterday it gave me fits.
Here's the problem:

Top thread breaking.
Long stitches interspersed with good looking stitches.

When I switch to piecing it works fine.
Obviously it's not that it's threaded improperly.
I have Aurifil top and bottom thread.
I'm stumped and I really want to get this thing done so I can use it on my table for the holidays.

I'm started to wonder if I'll ever be able to FMQ.
Any help is greatly appreciated!

Patricia Drew 11-13-2018 06:46 AM

What size needle are you using ? I quilt with a TL2010Q and use a size 14 topstitch needle.

anonymous 11-13-2018 06:51 AM

I was thinking needle also, it can make a big difference.

Watson 11-13-2018 07:02 AM

If the fmq foot is not close enough to the fabric it will break the top thread consistently.

Tartan 11-13-2018 07:18 AM

If the thread is breaking and you have long stitches, you need to work on your hand speed verses machine speed. If you can set the speed down on your machine, put it so if you press your foot pedal down completely it will only go a comfortable FMQ speed. If you are not using Machinger or similar gloves to help move the quilt, get some as they really help.
Accept that you will never get as perfect a stitch length as when you are regular sewing. When FMQ the stitch length will vary.

SusieQOH 11-13-2018 07:48 AM

I believe I'm using a size 14 Organ needle that came with the machine.
I use Machinger gloves. Can't work without them.
I need to check where the foot is hitting, thanks.
Thanks to everyone.

bjchad 11-13-2018 12:47 PM