Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   purchased old beautiful quilt blocks, now what? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/purchased-old-beautiful-quilt-blocks-now-what-t219343.html)

quilt queen 04-17-2013 07:15 AM

purchased old beautiful quilt blocks, now what?

I've been collecting old quilt blks for several years, want to put them together, but I need some help...don't want to mess it up...they range from early 30's to 50's, have grouped them in years..and I think I want to do samplers, as they are different pattern blks.. I want to hand quilt then..so what kine of batting..have old muslin to use for backing..thanks for any suggestions you may have..some ladies have put alot of hours in making these blks, it is a shame to just keep them in a draw..

Annie68 04-17-2013 07:24 AM

I love quilts made with old blocks, I've done some. You probably want to use a cotton batt, and as you said hand quilt. Good luck and show us when they are done.

JenniePenny 04-17-2013 07:25 AM

I think what I would do first is lay them out and photograph some different layouts, or even use graph paper to try to form a cohesive arrangement. Your blocks are probably different sizes and that adds to their charm, but it means you have to use sashings/ frames/ setting triangles around some of them to be able to create rows.
Sounds like a very interesting project and I would love to do that also!

Wunder-Mar 04-17-2013 07:27 AM