Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Question about copyright (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/question-about-copyright-t273093.html)

JanineH 12-08-2015 08:48 AM

Question about copyright

A friend and I are buying a copyrighted pattern together. Is it legal to make a copy so we both have it? There are a lot of knowledgeable people on here. I don't think I've seen this topic before. Thanks for your help.

QuiltingVagabond 12-08-2015 08:54 AM

I'm not a legal expert, but my gut feeling is no, that would be a violation of copyright.

patricej 12-08-2015 09:38 AM

no. you definitely cannot make a copy so that both of you have one.
you must work together so you can share it.
or one of you can use it and then pass it to the other.
you only paid for one copy, so that's all you are legally entitled to.

ManiacQuilter2 12-09-2015 05:27 AM

I agree. You must share the pattern you have. A copy would be illegal.

Bneighbor 12-09-2015 08:23 AM

I would say if you are working on a project together, something you are going to both take credit for, it may by-pass the copywrite. But sharing, lending or copying would be an infringement. In copywrite world "lending, "sharing" and "copying" are all interchangeable words.
If push came to shove, how will you prove that you bought it "together"? One person bought it (meaning there is one sales receipt) and the other pays her for her half. Technically, one person bought it. The buyer is "sharing", and the other is "giving her half the cost" for the ability to use the pattern, wheather working together or alone. I would think that that may be a problem.
If you are in doubt, don't share, lend, or copy. Copywrite law is such a pot of mud. I would check with the artist or the copywrite holder before even buying the pattern.

tessagin 12-09-2015 08:29 AM