Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Quilt Show Etiquette (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/quilt-show-etiquette-t67823.html)

Tink74 10-01-2010 07:13 PM

Tomorrow I am about to go to my first quilt show put on by a local Guild...

I am also a photographer by hobby...

What is propper etiquette for picture taking at quilt shows?

charmpacksplus 10-01-2010 07:16 PM

A lot of times there will be a sign saying NO CAMERAS but if they don't, you might just ask at the door.

maine ladybug 10-01-2010 07:19 PM

I would just make sure to look for signs that would tell you no pictures in some areas. Most shows allow you to take pictures, but sometimes featured people don't want you to.

darlin121 10-01-2010 07:26 PM

I usually take my camera with me but set my camera so that it DOES NOT FLASH. I was told that repeated flash from a camera will do harm to the quilt fabric. Who knew?
Other than that I suggest you simply ask at the door. Tell them you won't be using the flash and they may let you take pictures. This has been my experiance anyway.

wvdek 10-01-2010 07:28 PM

No touching the quilts unless gloves are provided (usually latex disposable gloves are provided), no eating or drinking around them as well as smoking, pictures only if they are allowed. Even if it is the most god-awful quilt you have ever seen, keep it to yourself. I know this goes without saying being we are adult, but there have been posts here about people's rudeness at shows and I have experienced it myself. Besides, you never know who is listening. Other than that, have a great time and enjoy yourself. If you are allowed pics, take plenty of them and show us.

craftybear 10-01-2010 07:30 PM

have fun and hope to see some pictures that you take for all of us to enjoy

bearisgray 10-01-2010 07:33 PM

Now I have a question -