Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Quilt Sizes (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/quilt-sizes-t256618.html)

SoftBlockLady 11-11-2014 04:53 AM

Quilt Sizes

I'm new to this, but why are the quilt patterns out there so small?. Most won't fit a single bed. It's a good thing I found out my niche in this hobby is pulling them apart, resizing, determining the new fabric yardage and what sizes to cut the pieces. What is the point of making these things if you can't use them.

ManiacQuilter2 11-11-2014 05:00 AM

I find that with the books and patterns I buy, I find the size that I need. If you have a computer, go buy the quilting program Electric Quilt. Then you can resize any pattern to fit your twin bed. I am assuming that is what you refer to as a single bed. The program can also give you an estimate of the fabric length you will need to purchase. Not sure if the program give metric measurements.

GrammieJan 11-11-2014 05:04 AM

"Most"? I find that most give dimensions and we need to judge by our size requirements before we start cutting. I hope you can have better luck in future.

SoftBlockLady 11-11-2014 05:15 AM

Originally Posted by GrammieJan (Post 6964418)
"Most"? I find that most give dimensions and we need to judge by our size requirements before we start cutting. I hope you can have better luck in future.

Of course they give dimensions but it's no fun when there is only one pattern in a pile of 25 patterns that is the size you need and you don't like it to boot.

Julienm1 11-11-2014 05:25 AM

If I like the pattern, I just make more blocks to make the size I need. Yes it means I buy extra fab but that's how I had to my scrapy stash pile!

PaperPrincess 11-11-2014 05:34 AM

Originally Posted by Julienm1 (Post 6964440)