Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Quilting with Poll or Cotton Thread (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/quilting-poll-cotton-thread-t228627.html)

SumikoKeel 08-23-2013 10:51 PM

Quilting with Poll or Cotton Thread

Good Morning Ladies,

This is my first question for the board and after lurking for sometime and enjoying your posts and helpfulness, friendliness I have gathered my nerve to post what perhaps is a redundant question. In hopes I may glean a better understanding of something I can't quite grasp as of yet.

I'm a novice quilter ( maybe even less than..) I'm stitching a Grandmother's flower garden by hand (paper piecing) - and a dresden plate large fan size on the machine with Mettler cotton covered polly thread? I think , thats what it is...anyway. I'm practicing free motion quilting small bits with the Mettler and a 14 needle with not much problem. I purchased an Etsy Class :thumbup: - woots - and had a great time with that! Gained lots of info on free motion. ( not much on threads and needles).

I suppose the question is - do I free motion with what I have? Or do I go with a nice shiny poly thread ? And how do I determine what thread and needle size? It seems to be a deep multi scary universe out there.

To give you an idea of my dohness I just figured out my birds nest and needle freezes were caused because (SURPRISE) !!I needed to clean my bobbin.