Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Quilting the quilt (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/quilting-quilt-t110135.html)

Little Sue 4.9 03-23-2011 02:57 PM

I'm new to quilting and I just finished sewing the quilt. I have the batting and backing ready to be attached, my questinon is : Do I do the quilting myself on a regular sewing machine or do I send it out to get hearts quiltied on it plus a name? If I send it out ( which is really what I want to do) where do I sent it and how much does that cost? I haven't joined any quilt clubs yet . Can anyone help me ???

happyscrappy 03-23-2011 03:06 PM

if you do not feel comfortable, send it out. there are people on this board who long arm quilt. i have always either hand quilted or use my regular ol machine to quilt. but, the sooner you try machine quilting yourself, the faster you will become good at it! if it is a small quilt, better yet to practice yourself.

StitchinJoy 03-23-2011 03:08 PM

Originally Posted by Little Sue 4.9
I'm new to quilting and I just finished sewing the quilt. I have the batting and backing ready to be attached, my questinon is : Do I do the quilting myself on a regular sewing machine or do I send it out to get hearts quiltied on it plus a name? If I send it out ( which is really what I want to do) where do I sent it and how much does that cost? I haven't joined any quilt clubs yet . Can anyone help me ???

Hi Sue-
I think your answer -- wo whether to quilt it yourself or send it out-- depends on your own heart and your budget. It is always more economical to quilt it yourself. If you have never done that, you will need to practice on some plain fabric sandwiches and get proficient. But you definitely could learn how, and it's a lot of fun.

I've sent you a Private Message also.

Please let us see a pic once you get the quilt finished.

Glynda 03-23-2011 03:12 PM