Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Ran out of border fabric (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/ran-out-border-fabric-t259249.html)

Jeanette Frantz 01-05-2015 04:47 PM

Ran out of border fabric

This is something I've never done before -- I'll have to go to the fabric store tomorrow! Darn, that makes me angry! I was only 6-8 inches short on my border, but I'm not taking the borders off to cut them narrower -- narrower won't work on this quilt!

Sure hope the store still has the fabric!

Jeanette

Barb in Louisiana 01-05-2015 04:48 PM

I have used cornerstone blocks when I didn't have enough of the border fabric. Here's hoping they have it at the store. Would love to see what you are working on.

Jeanette Frantz 01-05-2015 04:59 PM

Barb, I thought about the cornerstone blocks, but there's really nothing that would coordinate with what I have. I intend to post a copy of the top I'm working on as soon as I get it finished. The blocks are all embroidered state flower blocks (done by my 87-year old aunt). I guess she got tired of working on the blocks. I could not find any pattern or instructions that she had, so I assembled the blocks in alphabetical order by state name. It looks pretty good, but I know there must be a patterned layout for this -- I just couldn't find it! Anyway, back to the fabric store I will go!

Jeanette

mom-6 01-05-2015 05:49 PM

I'm not aware of a preferred layout for that. I finished one my mom and my aunt had started for their hope chests as a HS home ec project. Don't remember how I positioned the blocks either, as it was in our house when it burned 15 years ago.

QuiltnNan 01-05-2015 07:42 PM

instead of cornerstones, you can have 'inserts' along the border that might coordinate with your blocks... like angled stripes or something similar. if you post a pic, we might have some ideas for you

Jeanette Frantz 01-05-2015 09:39 PM