Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Repairing fabric (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/repairing-fabric-t50615.html)

CAROLJ 06-20-2010 10:16 PM

I have an old Grandmother's Flower Garden, one of the fabrics has shattered. How can I repair it? I thought about inserting fusible seaming strips behind the fabric. The fabric is intact, and it appears if I repaired it this way you would never know it had shattered. But I would have to fuse it to the batting. In addition, it may not stop the shatter from continuting beyond the stitching. I don't want to replace the original hexs, they were fussy cut from feed sacks and I love the fabric.

Should I fuse the entire hex or just the area that needs repair? Or should I repair it in another way?

I use the quilt on my bed. It is hand laundered about once a year just prior to storing it.

earthwalker 06-20-2010 10:21 PM

I am no expert, but the idea of using fusible on something so fragile could be fraught with difficulty. Would it be possible to apply a layer of organza (or similar fine fabric) over the top and applique it over the top of the damaged bits. It would be fiddly but wouldn't detract too much from the original.

Maybe if you had a spare room the quilt could go on a bed there...it sounds as if it is quite precious to you and it may last a little longer if not in constant use.

raptureready 06-21-2010 04:39 AM

Personally I'd replace the shattered hexes.

clem55 06-21-2010 06:02 AM

I'd put a little piece of lightweight pellon under it, the hex fused to the pellon , not the batting. If there is space to do it, I'd make the pellon a bit larger than the hex. I used this method in a quuilt I had. And I'd stop using the quilt, put it on a nice quilt rack for display!

Cathie_R 06-21-2010 07:03 AM

Originally Posted by earthwalker